Week 16 – 30/01/17

I’ve been focusing mostly on my essay this week – I struggled a bit initially as I had a bit of confusion about the focus of my writing and didn’t really know what artists would tie in well as examples. I’m essentially trying to look at artworks in different places and how environment can affect the way a piece of work is read. This stemmed initially from looking at Jeremy Deller’s Open Bedroom exhibition and how artwork is displayed in a domestic environment. I tried to take quite a critical stance on the white cube gallery space – I’ve become sort of annoyed with galleries after the visit to the Tate a few months ago – I think now that I’m an art student and I know  what’s involved in making, it’s quite difficult to see artworks as things that are sacred or untouchable. I see my  own works as quite disposable, but then maybe that’s something to do with me, rather than the rest of the world.

I had a bit of a blank day on Wednesday – it sort of got to the point where I just couldn’t look at the essay anymore, so I took a bit of a break and did a little bit of  sketchbook work, I’m hoping I’ll get a bit more focused at the end of the week so I can finish a draft – I really want to get it done as soon as possible so that I can use the rest of the time before hand-in to carry on painting. I think I’m pretty happy with what I want to do now in my work – I’m really happy with how my initial projection one is looking and so am exited to experiment more.

