Week 18 -13/02/17

I’ve been focusing on organising all of my work for hand in and making final adjustments to my essay. In the pre-assessment tutorial it was nice to get some general feedback on my most recent work.

img_20170216_174729_1.jpg

People commented on the painting beyond the initial projection drawings appearing quite static, so this is something I might want to think about. I don’t think it really matters to me that it is explicitly obvious that the works began as video, as ultimately although I wanted to show movement, the overall idea was about the static nature of the viewer and how we look when we are viewing. I might consider painting from projection over the current ground on the canvas (which was painted from a sketch rather than the video footage.) I think the reason for the static-ness is that I am not working at speed because I am focusing on keeping proportions right and capturing the right expressions. Perhaps a way of combating this is to keep the ground effectively ‘traced’ and then working into the painting totally freehand afterwards.

I’d also like to document the process a bit more – so that the painting does not totally loose its initial connections with video, while still being substantial and worked into. Something that I also want to look at is space – the videos all in some way capture the domestic space, so it is important to me that I fully understand this space and translate the depth into my work.

Looking back on this unit, I’m really happy with what I’ve produced – however in future I think I’d like for my development to be more visual than verbal/written. I want to fully explore how I work and what I like about my paintings. I’d also like to see how I can expand from this. Last year it was really important to me to be able to move beyond 2 dimensions, and so  it would be interesting to see how projecting works on a 3-dimensional object I think. I definitely want to look at more exhibition opportunities and to start thinking about how my comments on the viewer move into the real of the exhibition.

